ROSEMARY WELLS

Max's Bedtime by Rosemary Wells

Max's Bedtime by Rosemary Wells

Rosemary Wells has written more than 130 books. I chose the board book MAX’S BEDTIME because the cover has one of the most endearing expressions ever, as does Max's bunny-sort-of-bear. Wells said: "Simple incidents from childhood are universal. The dynamics between older and younger siblings are common to all families.”

Her dogs, west highland terriers, Lucy and Snowy, worked their way into her drawings in expression and body position. I bet one of them was the inspiration for the expression on Max’s face. Can’t you just see it?

Rosemary-Wells-2.png

The second image is of Max unable to sleep. Again it is utterly perfect!

Among her many books are:
RUBY'S BEAUTY SHOP
MAX'S CHRISTMAS
BUNNY PART
MAX'S CHOCOLATE CHICKEN
BUNNY CAKES

THE BERENSTAIN BEARS GO TO SCHOOL, by JAN and STAN BERENSTAIN

The Berenstain Bears Go To School, by Stan & Jan Berenstain

The Berenstain Bears Go To School, by Stan & Jan Berenstain

It is hard to come up with a more popular series than the Berenstain Bears. They were written by Stan & Jan Berenstain in 1962 and continued on to become a TV series in the ‘80s, a series of computer games, and even a movie. What an author’s dream, and it even looks like they had fun doing them! Their sons Leo and Mike eventually joined the family business, with Mike writing and Leo involved with the business side of the franchise.

Some people found them saccharine in tone and formulaic storytelling but children LOVED THEM! Theodor Geisel (Dr. Seuss) who was then editor at Random House, discovered the first book and mentored it before launching it. Ideal advice to be getting on one’s book!

Their latest book is: THE BERENSTAIN BEARS GO TO SCHOOL, and I am sure it will continue to thrill children like the others.

While momentarily living in a fantasy world, authors and illustrators everywhere can dream a little bit about such a success.  

KELLY LIGHT AND LOUISE LOVES ART

LOUISE LOVES ART, by Kelly Light

LOUISE LOVES ART, by Kelly Light

Louise_Doll.jpg

LOUISE LOVES ART is a particularly annoying book for me – I so VERY much wish I had written it. I too believe, like Louise, in the importance of creativity in all its forms. The characters in my books are endlessly making art. I do however have to agree, not as effectively as Louise!

Kelly Light’s drawings of Louise and fellow characters are as endearing and expressive as Olivia and Eloise. No wonder the book was a terrific success. THERE IS EVEN A DOLL!

louise-and-andie.jpg

Kelly Light has just come out with an enchanting new book, LOUISE AND ANDIE: THE ART OF FRIENDSHIP. In this book Louise meets her neighbor who also loves art more than anything. You can imagine the fun they have!

SNAPPSY THE ALLIGATOR (DID NOT ASK TO BE IN THIS BOOK) by JULIE FALATKO and TIM MILLER

Snappsy the Alligator, by Julie Falatko and Tim Miller

Snappsy the Alligator, by Julie Falatko and Tim Miller

SNAPPSY THE ALLIGATOR (DID NOT ASK TO BE IN THIS BOOK) is a book perfect for fans of Mo Willems which should make its author Julie Falatko and illustrator Tim Miller very happy. It is bound to be a great success as it immediately got rave reviews.

The book is original and hilarious with its own narrator. It is written in an appealing way that will allow children to be in on the jokes and participate in the fun. Julie Falatko’s nimble writing and Tim Miller’s bold goofy cartoons are a perfect combo.

JASMINE AND FRIENDS EATING MUFFINS

Jasmine made chocolate muffins for new friends, illustration by Elizabeth B Martin

Jasmine made chocolate muffins for new friends, illustration by Elizabeth B Martin

This is an image meant for one of my books. I wrote several versions of this book while trying to figure it out. Jasmine and her imaginary cat friend Boo have moved and want to make new friends. Jasmine understands the way to friendship, or anything else, is with chocolate. Boo and Jasmine have brought chocolate muffins over to their neighbors. At this point Boo has forgotten the plan and is focused on eating Jasmine's muffin.

Check out all my books for FREE in my Gallery.