ROSEMARY WELLS

 Max's Bedtime by Rosemary Wells

Max's Bedtime by Rosemary Wells

Rosemary Wells has written more than 130 books. I chose the board book MAX’S BEDTIME because the cover has one of the most endearing expressions ever, as does Max's bunny-sort-of-bear. Wells said: "Simple incidents from childhood are universal. The dynamics between older and younger siblings are common to all families.”

Her dogs, west highland terriers, Lucy and Snowy, worked their way into her drawings in expression and body position. I bet one of them was the inspiration for the expression on Max’s face. Can’t you just see it?

Rosemary-Wells-2.png

The second image is of Max unable to sleep. Again it is utterly perfect!

Among her many books are:
RUBY'S BEAUTY SHOP
MAX'S CHRISTMAS
BUNNY PART
MAX'S CHOCOLATE CHICKEN
BUNNY CAKES

KELLY LIGHT AND LOUISE LOVES ART

 LOUISE LOVES ART, by Kelly Light

LOUISE LOVES ART, by Kelly Light

Louise_Doll.jpg

LOUISE LOVES ART is a particularly annoying book for me – I so VERY much wish I had written it. I too believe, like Louise, in the importance of creativity in all its forms. The characters in my books are endlessly making art. I do however have to agree, not as effectively as Louise!

Kelly Light’s drawings of Louise and fellow characters are as endearing and expressive as Olivia and Eloise. No wonder the book was a terrific success. THERE IS EVEN A DOLL!

louise-and-andie.jpg

Kelly Light has just come out with an enchanting new book, LOUISE AND ANDIE: THE ART OF FRIENDSHIP. In this book Louise meets her neighbor who also loves art more than anything. You can imagine the fun they have!

PIRATES COMING OUT OF A BOOK

This is an image from one of my older books, a rather too complicated story of a grandmother reading a pirate book to her granddaughter before succumbing to alzheimer's disease. It is a wordless book with images of them communicating through the book. With this story line you can see why the book didn't go anywhere. I still quite like the image, and one hopes the saying that nothing is ever wasted is true.

Read some of my other books for free in my Gallery!

SNAPPSY THE ALLIGATOR (DID NOT ASK TO BE IN THIS BOOK) by JULIE FALATKO and TIM MILLER

 Snappsy the Alligator, by Julie Falatko and Tim Miller

Snappsy the Alligator, by Julie Falatko and Tim Miller

SNAPPSY THE ALLIGATOR (DID NOT ASK TO BE IN THIS BOOK) is a book perfect for fans of Mo Willems which should make its author Julie Falatko and illustrator Tim Miller very happy. It is bound to be a great success as it immediately got rave reviews.

The book is original and hilarious with its own narrator. It is written in an appealing way that will allow children to be in on the jokes and participate in the fun. Julie Falatko’s nimble writing and Tim Miller’s bold goofy cartoons are a perfect combo.

NAUGHTY MONKEYS

This is an image from one of my books. At this point it is difficult to tell that this is a book about ladybugs! It starts with two rather naughty monkeys teasing a cat. Fortunately they soon thereafter go outside and start their adventure of discovery. Read this and other books for free in my Gallery.